2020 Athlete Categorisation

Athlete Categorisation is an Australian sport system-wide framework for categorising athletes in an attempt to provide consistency across sports in identifying and subsequently supporting Australia’s best current and future medal prospects at Olympic, World Championship and Commonwealth Games level. 

The Athlete Categories as it relates to Taekwondo consists of six levels. Podium, Podium Ready, Podium Potential, Developing and Emerging categories are the podium pathway, and where Australian Taekwondo and the Australian Institute of Sport Combat Centre resources will be prioritised.

The International category is also provided to recognise those athletes that have yet to meet the performance criteria within the podium pathway but have represented Australia at the sports most recent benchmark event.

2019 Taekwondo Athlete Categorisation

Athlete categorisation criteria published in the documet below will apply from August 2020.

To be eligible to apply for Categorisation for taekwondo, athletes must:

  1. Be an Australian citizen
  2. Satisfy all relevant World Taekwondo (WT) and International Olympic Committee (IOC) eligibility and nationality rules
  3. Be actively training in a taekwondo event that is to be contested at the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games
  4. Be a registered member of Australian Taekwondo (AT)
  5. Must turn 17 years of age by 31 December 2020. 

Online Expressions of Interest for Categorisation will be received until 5:00pm (EST) Friday 20 December 2019 at the following link:  EoI - Athlete Categorisation