24 January 2023

New Board Members Announced for 2023

24 January 2023

Australian Taekwondo welcomes Hugh Eagling, Deanna Kyriazopoulos, and Marwan Hussein to its Board following the 2022 Annual General Meeting conducted last December.

Secretary-General and Elected Director Jean Kfoury was elected as Australian Taekwondo's new President, taking over from Hassan Iskandar who served his final term in 2022. Adrian Hitch was appointed Secretary-General and Elected Director, while Hugh Eagling returns to Australian Taekwondo as appointed Chair.

We warmly welcome two newly Elected Directors to the Board in Deanna Kyriazopoulos and Marwan Hussein and wish them all the best in their tenure.

Australian Taekwondo would like to thank and acknowledge Hassan Iskandar for his contribution and dedicated service to the Association. Hassan's service was appropriately recognised at Australian Taekwondo's inaugural National Awards Dinner during the 2022 Australian Taekwondo National Championships in Bendigo.

Australian Taekwondo also thanks Simon Lew for his outstanding work and commitment as Chair over the past six years. Simon worked closely with the executive across governance, strategy, finance, and risk management and proudly represented the Association in his dealings with the Australian Sports Commission, the Australian Institute of Sport and the Combat Institute of Australia. We are pleased to see Simon remain in Combat sports after recently being appointed as co-opted director for Boxing Australia.

For information regarding the AGM, election and nomination process, please see the Australian Taekwondo Constitution, available publicly from the Australian Taekwondo website.

We acknowledge that our office is spread across many traditional lands, and we pay respect to all traditional owners of these lands and elders past and present.