14 November 2023

New Board members join Australian Taekwondo

14 November 2023

The Australian Taekwondo Annual General Meeting was held at the Gold Netball Centre in Perth last month, and the results of this meeting are as follows. 

At this meeting, three Directors were appointed for a three-year term via a majority vote of member states. 

President and Elected Director Jean Kfoury was re-elected for a further three years. 

Allan Malachowski concluded his term, and we thank Allan for his dedication and contribution to the Australian Taekwondo Board during his tenure.  

The Board welcomes and congratulates two new Directors in Melhim Badreddine from New South Wales and Harry Saltis from Victoria. 

Melhims's career spans over 20 years in the transport industry, working in customer service, training and development, integration, commissioning and health and safety. Melhim has been involved in Taekwondo for 37 years as a competitor, coach and instructor. 

Harry joins the Board with 22 years of experience in Taekwondo as an instructor and coach and served on the Board of ATV. Harry is passionate about the traditional and modern aspects of Taekwondo and is dedicated to its growth as a national sport. 

More recently, Justine Cameron has stepped away as an appointed director and Chair of the Finance and Risk Management Committee. We thank Justine for her contribution to the Board and FARM Committee as a senior lawyer, finance, risk and compliance expert. 

To learn more about the Australian Taekwondo Board, please click here.

Finally, we are pleased to release Australian Taekwondo's 2022-23 Annual Report, which highlights the fantastic performance of the association over the last 12 months. You can view a copy here

We acknowledge that our office is spread across many traditional lands, and we pay respect to all traditional owners of these lands and elders past and present.